Maryville University faculty in a training discussion

Maryville Essentials

Maryville Essentials

Click through the below links to learn more about Maryville student and faculty support. There will be a self-quiz at the end. Please use it to gauge your knowledge after you have read through the pages.

professors collaborating

Who are we?

Strategic Plan

Innovation, excellence, student outcomes and learner centered pedagogy are the hallmarks of this strategic plan and Maryville possesses the talent, energy, resources and drive to accomplish all of our goals and realize our vision.” – Dr. Mark Lombardi
As a member of the Maryville community, you too are a big part of our strategic planning mission. You will learn more about how to intertwine the Active Learning Ecosystem into your teaching in the Adjunct Academy.

Our Four Themes

four themes for strategic plan

Theme 1: Active Learning Ecosystem

Maryville University will create a campus wide learning ecosystem with students at the center.

Read More

innovation at maryville

Theme 2: Transformational Innovation

Maryville will transform the development and delivery of higher education through a reengineering of pedagogy, processes and systems centered on student learning outcomes.

Read More

diversity and inclusion at maryville

Theme 3: Diversity and Inclusiveness

Maryville University will become a diverse campus community that values inclusiveness through intentional student/faculty/staff recruitment, professional development and programming.

Read More

students sitting outside by fountain

Theme 4: Strategic Growth

Maryville University will leverage and solidify its status as a leading National University by expanding programs to meet emerging market needs.

Read More

 
View Strategic Plan

Center for Teaching and Learning

The Finch Center for Teaching and Learning promotes continuous faculty learning with an emphasis on classrooms of engagement, Digital World classrooms, and community building.

Go to the Adjunct Faculty webpage for resources, policies, and other information.

Jesse Kavadlo

Jesse KavadloView profile

Director of the Dr. Mary Ellen Finch Center for Teaching and Learning/Coordinator of University Seminar/Professor of English
Reid 3302

Phone: 314.529.9502
Email: jkavadlo@maryville.edu
Laura Ross

Laura Ross

Associate Director of the Finch Center for Teaching and Learning
Gander 274

Phone: 314.529.6683
Email: lross@maryville.edu

 
Visit CTL Site

School of Adults & Online Education

Pamela Bryan Williams

Pamela Bryan Williams

Director Learning Design & Development
Gander 255

Phone: 314.529.9614
Email: pamela.williams@maryville.edu

 
Sam Harris

Sam Harris

Director of Learning Technology & Support
Gander 267

Phone: 314.529.9316
Email: sharris@maryville.edu

 
 
Taylor Bell

Taylor Bell

Senior Instructional Technology Specialist
Gander 260

Phone: 314.529.6876
Email: tbell@maryville.edu

 
 
 
Contact Sam and Taylor for use of Canvas or apps and the iPad

Canvas Tutorials

Technical Support

Contact the help desk with questions regarding classroom equipment or device malfunction.

Help Desk Portal

College of Arts and Sciences

 

John Baltrushunas

John Baltrushunas

Director of the May Gallery/Eleanor Lawler Pillsbury Associate Professor of Art
Design & Visual Art 116

Phone: 314.529.9679
Email: jbaltrushunas@maryville.edu

 
Geriann Brandt

Geriann BrandtView profile

Director of the Criminal Justice/Criminology Program/Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice and Criminology
3215

Phone: 314.529.9643
Email: gbrandt@maryville.edu

 
Darlene Davison

Darlene Davison

Director of the Interior Design Program/Associate Professor of Interior Design
Design & Visual Art 122

Phone: 314.529.9587
Email: ddavison@maryville.edu

 
Jonathan Fahnestock

Jonathan Fahnestock

Associate Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences/Director of the Design and Visual Art Programs/Director of Graphic and interactive Design Programs/Associate Professor of Graphic and Interactive Design
Design & Visual Art 117

Phone: 314.529.9426
Email: jfahnestock@maryville.edu

 
Guangwei Fan

Guangwei Fan

Director of the Actuarial Science, Data Science, & Mathematics Programs/Professor of Actuarial Science, Data Science, & Mathematics
Kernaghan 3113

Phone: 314.529.9427
Email: gfan@maryville.edu

 
Peter Green

Peter Green

Associate Dean for the College of Arts and Sciences/Program Director - Organizational Leadership, Political Science/Psychology, Sociology/Professor of Psychology
Reid 3304

Phone: 314.529.9428
Email: pgreen@maryville.edu

Anthony Santirojprapai

Anthony Santirojprapai

Assistant Dean for Humanities/Assistant Professor of English
Reid 3308

Phone: 314.529.9669
Email: asantirojprapai@maryville.edu

 
Jason Telford

Jason TelfordView profile

Interim Assistant Dean for Natural Sciences and Math/Director of the Chemistry and Biochemistry Program/Coordinator for Pre-Health Professions/Associate Professor of Chemistry
Anheuser-Busch Hall 3208

Phone: 314.529.9432
Email: jtelford@maryville.edu

 
Alexander Wulff

Alexander Wulff

Director of Writing and Multimodal Composition/Assistant Professor of English
Anheuser-Busch Hall 3265

Phone: 314.529.9621
Email: awulff@maryville.edu

 
Dustin York

Dustin York

Director of Undergraduate and Graduate Communication Programs/Associate Professor of Communication
Anheuser-Busch Hall 3210

Phone: 314.529.9455
Email: dyork1@maryville.edu

 
Jennifer Yukna

Jennifer Yukna

Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences
Anheuser-Busch Hall 3204

Phone: 314.529.6858
Email: jyukna@maryville.edu

 

John E. Simon School of Business


 

Somer Anderson

Somer AndersonView profile

Assistant Dean for the Simon School of Business/Assistant Professor of Accounting
2208

Phone: 314.529.9482
Email: sanderson6@maryville.edu

 
Stacy Hollins

Stacy HollinsView profile

Assistant Dean for the Simon School of Business/Associate Professor of Management Information Systems
Anheuser-Busch Hall 2221

Phone: 314.529.9421
Email: shollins@maryville.edu

 
Crystal Jacobsmeyer

Crystal Jacobsmeyer

Director of Academic Operations
Anheuser-Busch Hall 2206

Phone: 314.529.9654
Email: cjacobsmeyer@maryville.edu

 
Jason Williams

Jason WilliamsView profile

Assistant Dean for the Simon School of Business/Director of the Rawlings Sport Business Management Program/Associate Professor of Sport Business Management
Anheuser-Busch Hall 2216

Phone: 314.529.6847
Email: jwilliams4@maryville.edu

School of Education

Mascheal Schappe

Mascheal Schappe

Dean, School of Education
Anheuser-Busch Hall 1204

Phone: 314.529.9670
Email: mschappe@maryville.edu

 

 
Robin Grebing

Robin Grebing

Director of the Higher Education Leadership Program /Assistant Professor of Higher Education Leadership
Anheuser-Busch Hall 1221

Phone: 314.529.6622
Email: rgrebing@maryville.edu

 
Keith Kinder

Keith Kinder

Assistant Professor of Educational Leadership
Anheuser-Busch Hall 1218

Phone: 314.529.9557
Email: lkinder@maryville.edu

 
Destiny Reddick

Destiny Reddick

Assistant Professor of Teacher Education
Anheuser-Busch Hall 1213

Phone: 314.529.9470
Email: dreddick@maryville.edu

 
 
Stacey Ruffin

Stacey Ruffin

Director of Clinical Experiences & Partnerships/Coordinator of Undergraduate Programs


Phone: 314.529.9542
Email: sruffin@maryville.edu

 
 

Myrtle E. and Earl E. Walker College of Health Professions


Laura Beer

Laura Beer

Director of the Music Therapy Program/Associate Professor of Music Therapy


Phone: 314.529.9441
Email: lbeer@maryville.edu

 
Jennifer Brunworth

Jennifer Brunworth

Assistant Professor of MSN Leadership
Walker Hall 234

Phone: 314.529.9689
Email: jbrunworth@maryville.edu

 
Elizabeth Buck

Elizabeth Buck

Assistant Dean for Nursing/Director of the Online Nursing Program/Professor of Nursing
Walker Hall 147

Phone: 314.529.9453
Email: ebuck@maryville.edu

 
Robert Cunningham

Robert Cunningham

Assistant Dean for the Walker College of Health Professions/Director of the Occupational Therapy Program/Associate Professor of Occupational Therapy
Walker Hall 245

Phone: 314.529.6862
Email: rcunningham@maryville.edu

 
Kristi Filley

Kristi Filley

Clinical Coordinator for Online Nursing
Walker Hall 230

Phone: 314.529.6835
Email: kfilley@maryville.edu

 
Geralyn Frandsen

Geralyn Frandsen

Assistant Director - BSN Programs/Professor of Nursing
Walker Hall 233

Phone: 314.529.9439
Email: gfrandsen@maryville.edu

 
Michelle Jenkins-Unterberg

Michelle Jenkins-UnterbergView profile

Dean of the Walker College of Health Professions/Professor of Physical Therapy
Walker Hall 145

Phone: 314.529.9590
Email: munterberg@maryville.edu

 
Michael Kiener

Michael KienerView profile

Director of the Rehabilitition Counseling Program/Professor of Rehabilitation Counseling
Walker Hall 154

Phone: 314.529.9443
Email: mkiener@maryville.edu

 
Jessica Mckay

Jessica Mckay

Certification and Accreditation Specialist
Anheuser-Busch Hall 1217

Phone: 314.529.9633
Email: jmckay1@maryville.edu

 
Karen Schechter

Karen Schechter

Director of Healthcare Admininstration Programs/Director of the Senior Services Program/Director of General Studies in Healthcare/Assistant Professor of Healthcare Administration Programs
Walker Hall 153B

Phone: 314.529.6593
Email: kschechter@maryville.edu

Renee Schuster

Renee Schuster

Director of the Speech-Language Pathology Program/Assistant Professor
Walker Hall 328

Phone: 314.529.9548
Email: rschuster@maryville.edu


 

Bonnie Stegman

Bonnie StegmanView profile

Coordinator of the BSN Online Completion Program/Coordinator of the Community Paramedic Program/Associate Professor of Nursing
Walker Hall 144

Phone: 314.529.6595
Email: bstegman@maryville.edu

Nina Zimmermann

Nina Zimmermann

Assistant Professor of Nursing/Director of the MSN Nurse Practitioner Program
Walker Hall 235

Phone: 314.529.9221
Email: nzimmermann@maryville.edu

 

School of Adult and Online Education

Daniel Viele

Daniel Viele

Chief Strategic Information Officer
Gander 257

Phone: 314.529.9671
Email: dviele@maryville.edu

 
Katherine Louthan

Katherine Louthan

Dean of the School of Adult and Online Education
Gander 251

Phone: 314.529.9327
Email: klouthan@maryville.edu

 

Stacey Decker

Stacey Decker

Online Program Coordinator


Phone: 314.529.9683
Email: sdecker1@maryville.edu

 
Sam Harris

Sam Harris

Director of Learning Technology & Support
Gander 267

Phone: 314.529.9316
Email: sharris@maryville.edu

 
Cecilia Perry

Cecilia Perry

Academic Assistant Dean
3211

Phone: 314.529.9620
Email: cperry@maryville.edu

 
Lori Sharp

Lori Sharp

Director of Operations and Adjunct Faculty Engagement
Gander 265

Phone: 314.529.9667
Email: lsharp@maryville.edu

 

Finch Center for Teaching and Learning

Jesse Kavadlo

Jesse KavadloView profile

Director of the Dr. Mary Ellen Finch Center for Teaching and Learning/Coordinator of University Seminar/Professor of English
Reid 3302

Phone: 314.529.9502
Email: jkavadlo@maryville.edu
Laura Ross

Laura Ross

Associate Director of the Finch Center for Teaching and Learning
Gander 274

Phone: 314.529.6683
Email: lross@maryville.edu

Life Coaches

Each student works closely with a life coach who serves as a resource, a guide, a knowledgeable academic adviser and a mentor … and that’s just the beginning. Life coaches serves as a confidante when questions develop, as a source of support when concerns arise and is eager to celebrate students’ successes. Life coaches also guide students through academic and career planning decisions, and helps ease their personal transition into the Maryville community.

Meet Life Coaches

Tutoring

Maryville University’s Center for Academic Success and Life Coaching provides trained and carefully selected tutors free of charge to assist students who need help with specific subjects, assignments or projects. Tutors are not only knowledgeable in their subject areas, but they are also knowledgeable in study skills, time management and test taking strategies.

Learn More

Digital World

digital world at maryville

Digital World classes are a collaboration between learner and professor. All of the world’s information is just one Google search away, so our professors are adapting the way they teach. Digital World classes will have you working together with professors and your fellow students to tackle real-world challenges … which is ideal preparation for the job that awaits you after graduation.

View Initiative

Diversity and Inclusion

students at maryville

The Office of Diversity and Inclusion works with the Maryville University community to make our campus a welcoming place for everyone. We play an important role in furthering the University’s strategic plan regarding diversity and inclusion through recruitment, student support, campus programming, collaborating with other departments, and building community partnerships.

Office of Diversity and Inclusion

Self-Quiz: After you review the Maryville essentials, take the Maryville essentials quiz.

    Learning Management System: a software application used to organize and distribute e-learning materials, assignments, and assessments; track and calculate grades; and facilitate communication among students and teachers.

Return to New Adjunct Faculty Page