Maryville Announces 2015 ‘Spirit of Maryville’ Award Recipients


Maryville University 3/12/2015

Myrtle E. and Earl E. Walker Medal

[St. Louis, Mo.] – Maryville University proudly announces the recipients of the 2015 Spirit of Maryville Awards, honoring alumni and community leaders. The awards will be presented during the annual Spirit of Maryville dinner, to be held Saturday, May 16.

Dean’s Awards recognize alumni who bring distinction to their professions, their communities and Maryville. The following individuals will be honored this year:

  • The College of Arts and Sciences will honor Kathleen “Kay” Quinn-Malone, anchor of KSDK NewsChannel 5’s First at Four program and co-anchor of NewsChannel 5 at Six. Prior to these roles, she anchored the weekend evening newscasts. Quinn-Malone has earned industry respect and an Emmy award for her work. Following early career work with Canadian radio stations, Quinn-Malone returned to St. Louis, where she continued her radio career as a news anchor and reporter on local stations. She joined KSDK in 1989.
  • The School of Education will recognize Jason Adams, EdD, principal of Maplewood Richmond Heights Elementary in the Maplewood Richmond Heights (MRH) School District. Adams earned each of his four degrees at Maryville University. He has served in leadership positions for Missouri National Education Association/DESE and the Missouri Reading Association.
  • Susan Rowold Brueggemann will receive the John E. Simon School of Business honor. Brueggemann is a human resources leader, talent management expert and director of human resources for Jim’s Formal Wear LLC. Brueggemann provides leadership and consultation across 10 geographic locations on policy, employee relations and engagement, performance feedback, HR tools and infrastructure and more.
  • The College of Health Professions will recognize Christine Crain, chief operating officer for Mercy Kids, a division of Mercy. In this role, she serves as executive leader for strategic and operational initiatives related to pediatric and neonatal services across Mercy’s four-state region. She is also responsible for improving access to services and the overall quality of care for children. Crain also serves on the leadership team overseeing strategic and operational planning and goal setting for Mercy Hospital St. Louis.

Maryville University also values the opportunity to honor alumni and friends who give generously in support of programs, and to recognize those who donate their time and expertise on leadership boards. Along with the Young Alumni, Centennial and Volunteer of the Year awards, this year marks the inaugural presentation of the Myrtle E. and Earl E. Walker Medal for outstanding contributions or achievement in health and wellness.

The following award recipients will be recognized during the Spirit of Maryville dinner:

  • Cuong Q. Dang, co-founder of Enliven, will receive the Young Alumni Award. Enliven is a creative technology company in St. Louis focusing on user experience on web and mobile technologies. As Enliven’s CEO, Dang directs business strategies and leads user experience work. An accomplished speaker, Cuong has presented at conferences throughout the U.S. and abroad on web development and user experience design.
  • Evelyn Chiao Yuan will receive the Centennial Award. Yuan was the first student from China to attend Maryville on a scholarship. She was educated by Sacred Heart nuns throughout her academic career, and with the assistance of Mother Patricia Barrett she converted to Catholicism while at Maryville. Yuan has commemorated her experience by endowing the Evelyn Yuan Scholarship, awarded annually to an academically gifted Asian student, and supports other major Maryville initiatives. Following her studies in chemistry, Yuan worked in labs for Pfizer and Schering-Plough (now Merck & Co.) pharmaceutical companies. A longtime volunteer and a New Jersey native, Yuan now lives in San Francisco, Calif.
  • Singer and composer Al Hammerman, MD, will be honored as Volunteer of the Year. Hammerman, a versatile composer and on-stage talent, is also a practicing physician. He helped launch Kids Rock Cancer, Maryville’s unique music therapy program for children with cancer and other blood disorders. As a charter member and valuable leader of the advisory council, he continues to help shape Maryville’s vision for the program. Last year, Hammerman generously staged a Kids Rock Cancer benefit concert at The Sheldon, “I Got A Song,” featuring many of his original compositions.
  • Awarded for the first time, the Myrtle E. And Earl E. Walker Medal will be presented to Myrtle E. Walker and posthumously to the late Earl E. Walker. The award recognizes outstanding contributions or achievement in the field of health and wellness. From modest means in the late 1930s, Myrtle and Earl Walker built Carr Lane Manufacturing Co., one of the world’s largest producers of tooling components. Myrtle served as vice president of Carr Lane, working alongside her husband in all aspects of the business. Their success enabled generous support for a broad spectrum of philanthropic endeavors throughout the St. Louis region and beyond. Maryville’s new state-of-the-art building and home to the College of Health Professions is just one example of the Walkers’ transformative impact in the field of healthcare. The Walker Scottish Rite Clinic for Childhood Language Disorders, co-founded by Earl, recently moved into Walker Hall and became a fully integrated academic and clinical program of Maryville University.